North-Eastern Hill University
A Central University established by an Act of Parliament
Shillong 793 022, India

The School of Human and Environmental Sciences


The School of Human and Environmental Sciences comprises five departments :

The School of Human and Environmental Sciences consists of five departments, namely, Anthropology, Geography, Rural Development & Agriculture Production (at Tura), Environmental Studies and Horticulture (at Tura). The departments under the school have well-equipped laboratory facilities with well-qualified faculty members actively engaged in teaching and research as evident from the profiles of respective departments. The Department of Geography is supported by UGC SAP and DST FIST. Under these programmes, the department has established a laboratory of Geographical Information Systems (GIS) with software and hardware facilities, and two hydrological observatories. A pollution monitoring laboratory and weather monitoring stations in the Department of Environmental Studies are established and have been functioning. Several collaborative and/or consultative research works have been taken up with institutions of repute in the country as well as abroad.

  Dean: Prof. D.K.Nayak
Tel: (0364) 272-3221 (O)
Mobile: +91-9436103290
Fax: (0364) 2550040
E-mail :
Disclaimer | Contact Us
©2007 Bioinformatics Centre, NEHU Shillong-22