Department of Political Science

head image

Head of Department

Prof. T.T. Haokip
Contact: 0364 2307930 3031


Department of Political Science
North-Eastern Hill University 
Shillong 793 022


  • M.A.
  • M. Phil
  • Ph. D
  • Faculty members

    About the Department

    The Department of Political Science, established in 1974, aims at building an academic community of students, researchers and teachers devoted to an open, critical and analytical study of the discipline with an emphasis on inter-disciplinary approach. It also aims at making courses and research work socially relevant and developing in the students an awareness of the basic issues and problems in the discipline so as to equip them intellectually to fulfill these needs.

    The Department has 15 sanctioned posts. With the strength of 10 faculty members, the department has 104 students on its roll at the M.A. level. The department admits M.Phil and Ph.D scholars who undergo course work for one semester followed by dissertation/thesis writing on proposals approved by the School Board of Social Sciences. At present there are 55 research scholars who are engaged in M.Phil and Ph.D  Programme of the Department. The Department is in DRS Phase II of SAP. The thrust area of SAP is “Political Processes and Economic Development of North-East India”.

    Revised MA Political Science Syllabus 2020